What are you proud of?

So I’ve been really into going to the gym the past few weeks. I have always wanted to live a very active lifestyle but always had trouble implementing that since it is sometimes hard to do that without getting down on yourself. Now with being in college I have a lot more access to different activities such as fitness classes, using the workout machines, intermural sports, the works. I can finally go and get myself to work out. I can already feel the difference in how I feel. I love working out for the enjoyment and for the pride I feel when I start to see differences not only physically but mentally.

I really didn’t feel like working out today. But I told my boyfriend to encourage me to go to the gym until I went. He told me to just go for a fifteen minute workout and that all I needed to do was get my muscles going. I went to the gym. I did the elliptical for fifteen minutes; and by that time I felt pretty darn good so I kept on going. I am so happy I ended up going to the gym today, it really made me feel so much better. I want to remember how happy I was that I did my work out anyways.

I used to do cross-country but I more enjoyed the people that participated and the trips, than the actual running part. However, I did take with me different skills that you need to carry in order to be active in a positive and healthy way. Some of these include stretching, having a carb night before a big workout or race, work up to a goal not just jump right to it, be positive, etc. The most important thing that I learned was to be active for fun and to be healthy. I may have loved the people on the team and the trips with my friends but it meant more to me to be able to actively be doing something for my well being than for the sake of winning(it was too much of a competitive environment for me).

Winning has never been a huge goal for me. Sure winning is great, but its more about the journey to get there and the fun. There’s nothing wrong with that even though some people don’t understand why I don’t like to compete. Well my reasons are (1) that I don’t like competitive environments and (2) I am just not someone who is competitive in competitions but am competitive in the sense that I strive for different goals based on what I would like to accomplish. Trust me though, I give props to those who can be competitive in everything they do.

This “belief” I have towards competing and athleticism has followed through from eighth grade until my freshman year of college. I am so unbelievably proud of how I learned what I want from working out, sports…or life. This is one of the things I am most proud of. You don’t have to be proud only about winning, but the little mile stones too. My ability to keep on plugging even if I want to stop, and the ability to know that I don’t have to compete is important for me. Knowing that difference makes all the difference to me.

What are you proud of?

Leave a Reply

