Kids.

Today I volunteered at an elementary school. I do this every once in a while through a program at my school. I absolutely love going. If you’re ever needing some time out of your dorm room, go volunteer at an elementary school. You may end up running, climbing on playground equipment, playing tag, playing zombie tag(yes there is a difference), hiding things and then finding them, and learning the general rules of the play ground.It is so much fun.

I cannot wait to be a teacher. Teaching elementary kids is going to be one of the best jobs in the world. When people think of a teacher, people think of the teacher teaching their students what they need to know. But it’s also those students teaching the teacher what they need to know.

Kids have no filters. They will tell you exactly what they’re thinking, when they’re thinking it. Through this lack of a filter I’ve learned a lot of things. I’ve learned I am really old(P.S. for those of you who haven’t read my About page, I’m 18). I’ve learned you are not their friend when you tell them they have to correct their behavior. You’re safe on the play equipment, but when you’re on the wood chips you can be tagged.

Trust me, I do understand that as a teacher things will not always be like it is when I’m volunteering. But as a volunteer, you’re somewhat of a temporary friend and may make a difference. As a teacher, you could make the world of a difference.

I remember the first teacher that first made me start to love to go to school. It’s the first time I remember liking school, so maybe I liked it before too. But anyways, the one teacher that sticks out to me is my first grade teacher. I was scared at first when I found out she’d be my teacher, but by the time first grade came around I would run up and hug her. I remember how much I loved her as a teacher and I want one of my students to remember me the same way.

I still run into this teacher on occasion and I am still shocked that she knows who I am. She ran into me the first time since first grade when I was a sophomore in high school. She came up behind me and said “I know who you are. I would never forget.” That leads me to believe I maybe taught her something like she taught me.

I can’t wait to make that kind of impact.

Leave a Reply

