Calisthenics

What are they?

Dictionary.com defines calisthenics as

[kal-uh s-then-iks]

noun
1.
(used with a plural verb) gymnastic exercises designed to develop physical health and vigor, usually performed with little or no special apparatus.
2.
(used with a singular verb) the art, practice, or a session of such exercises.

What do they do for you?

Calisthenics help to tone and to build muscle by doing exercises that use body weight to help lower body fat. Usually it involves more strength than a cardio workout. Calisthenics can be used to tone and build muscle in almost every part of the body. Coordination and flexibility can also be developed through doing the exercises. Calisthenics are convenient because no equipment is needed and you can do them essentially anywhere.

How much should you do?

You should never do more than you can handle of course, but you can look at different exercises and workouts to help determine if its too easy or too hard for your skill level. That’s how I figured it out. I would find a workout someone already made and would try it out and alter it according to what you felt you needed. Trial and error seemed to work best for me.

How are they working for me?

I have always loved doing calisthenics. I am a firm believer that they work and are beneficial to add into any workout. Sometimes I like to do them before a cardio workout to warm up some and it can also make your cardio workout a little more difficult since you’re already somewhat tired.

One workout that I do involving cardio and calisthenics is alternating the two. I do as follows—Run 1:00 minute on the treadmill. 20 squats. Run 1:00 minute on the treadmill. 10 pushups. Etc. I really love to do this workout. It definitely pushes you to work hard and to keep going. I love to do this workout to shake up my usual routine.

Where can I find some workouts?

I use Pinterest all the time and made my own Pinterest board of all my favorite workouts. I have always loved to do the Blogilates Victorias Secret Abs Workout on youtube as well; I have done it for years. I will probably end up posting a “Workout of the Day” at some point as well.

I hope this helps shake up your usual workout. Have fun!


I am no expert on the subject, everything I know on this subject is from sports, online or from experience. I thought I would post it anyway to get you started!

Published by

inspireafeeling

Okay... so something about me. I love dogs(who doesn't?). Oh, cats too. I love hearing people's stories. I love being organized. I love letting loose. I love Summer. I love the rain and house-shaking thunderstorms. I like when things match. I love to exercise and aim for a happier and healthier lifestyle. I am an art fanatic(speaking of which, I should work on a new post about art). I love my family. I love my friends. I love my boyfriend. I love the feeling of being free. I love DIYs. I could list so many more things, I love but there's the gist. Now for some structured writing...I am currently a college student who has always wanted to find a way to give someone a spark or the initiative to do something they have always wanted to do. With this blog I want to show you different crafts, show you different movies or television shows or give you some insight on what is going on with me. By doing this I hope that something that I post will inspire you to try something new or something that you've always wanted to try.

2 thoughts on “Calisthenics”

Leave a Reply

