I plan out my meals.

I try to plan out my meals for every day of the week. I am going to get right into it!

Of course, some changes have to happen to my plans on occasion. If I know that I will be at a friends house that weekend, I plan to bring some snacks or to get my game face on and turn down any poor food choices. But of course I still eat junk food though, what’s a friends house without junk food? I will also plan my workouts according to what I have planned for that week. By planning these things out I can plan to eat healthier or do a harder workout the days before I go. Also, say I am going to their house Friday afternoon. In that case, I would squeeze a workout in Friday morning and then choose that Saturday I won’t be home to be one of my off days.

When planning out my meals, I often write “pick something from the snack drawer” into the snack category on my planner. In my dorm, I have a drawer with different healthier snacks. Even though I enjoy planning out my meals, I also like to feel like I have more freedom from that schedule. So I use my snack drawer for this. This way, I can choose anything from the drawer but still stay within that healthy snack category.

Since I am in college it is harder to make better choices. If I had a car, I could do a quick trip to Walmart to get some healthier food no problem. However, since I’m a freshman I can’t have a car on campus so I take the bus once a week to pick up food. I have to plan what I eat so I can also know what to buy on my next shopping trip to make sure I eat it. On my last shopping trip, this is some of the food I picked up:

apples with caramel

mango

avocado

4 apples

carrots

Rice Crackers

dried edamame

Many of the foods I keep in my dorm are healthy microwavable foods and different snacks. Sometimes if I know the dining hall won’t have any meals that are lower in carbs, I will make some soup or have half an avocado with something else. I just substitute foods according to what part of the food pyramid I am missing for that day.

In the dining hall they try to serve healthier food. However, they also have to cook for mass amounts of people. This makes it difficult because often, only foods high in carbs are served at the dining hall in my dorm. So I make changes to some of the food options. One of the options for breakfast is waffles. Waffles aren’t the best thing for you, but they’re better than eating the fried tater tots, sausage and pancakes. The waffles tend to keep me fuller longer than the pancakes so I choose that or a bagel. For my waffle I mix in flax seed, then cook it, and put a small amount of maple syrup on it with some crushed almonds and walnuts. I personally buy the flax seed and nuts, this is not provided by my school. For lunch, I have canned chicken to bring down to the dining hall and put that on my sandwich rather than the meat provided by my school since it is hard to tell where it comes from. I don’t eat meat much in general, but when I do I like to know where it comes from in addition to the fact that canned chicken is somewhat better for you than canned tuna. Making these changes also helps me to shake up what I’ve been eating so I don’t get sick of one food.

This is what works best for me and my lifestyle. I don’t always plan out my food, but if I feel like I need to plan it out, I do. I just do whatever will work for that day. Staying on track is important to me and my goals. I hope that this helped to give some of you ideas on how to stay on track and live that healthy lifestyle you want. If you have anything you do to keep you on track, please let me know. I would love to hear some of your ideas!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. driftinglexi says:

    I don’t tend to eat enough protein, so I use the MyFitnessPal app to help me keep track of what I’m eating everyday so that I can make healthier changes as the app already has the nutritional information for the majority of foods I eat and it tells you how much protein/carbs/fat your body needs in relation to your height/weight/activity levels etc. Have you tried it?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I absolutely love it! I use it if I know I’m going overboard on what I’m eating or if I’m not sure if I have eaten enough of what I need to but on days where I’m doing well I avoid using it. I don’t eat much meat either so this app is nice to keep track of my carb intake since I used to rely on carbs a lot to replace the meat I wasn’t eating. I also love how it connects to other apps and plugs in your exercise!(:

      Like

      1. driftinglexi says:

        Yeah it’s really good and easy to use! I’ve never used it for exercise, but maybe I’ll try it… though I don’t see myself moving about a lot now that it’s starting to get colder, haha!

        Like

Leave a Reply

