Cellphones at Dinner?

I went on a date with my boyfriend to the Cheesecake Factory. It was so much fun and I loved being able to spend time with him. We talked; enjoying our time and food.

The couple that was sitting at the next table over was about to leave, when the woman stopped and looked at us. Then she said “Are you two on a date?” and my boyfriend responded with “Yes.” The woman then continued and said she loved how we weren’t glued to our phones and spent time together.

I was a little surprised by this because I found it normal to put phones away (unless taking pictures) while spending time with someone. When you see people in public, you often see them with a phone in their hand. Disconnecting is actually a very freeing idea.

Cabelas has a disconnect campaign. The video previously linked really gets the idea across. If you watch it, make sure you watch the whole thing. You don’t have to go camping to disconnect. Do a craft. Read. Play a board game. You never know what you may be missing when looking at your phone.

Do you think people should put their phones away when spending time with someone? How often do you disconnect?

Published by

inspireafeeling

Okay... so something about me. I love dogs(who doesn't?). Oh, cats too. I love hearing people's stories. I love being organized. I love letting loose. I love Summer. I love the rain and house-shaking thunderstorms. I like when things match. I love to exercise and aim for a happier and healthier lifestyle. I am an art fanatic(speaking of which, I should work on a new post about art). I love my family. I love my friends. I love my boyfriend. I love the feeling of being free. I love DIYs. I could list so many more things, I love but there's the gist. Now for some structured writing...I am currently a college student who has always wanted to find a way to give someone a spark or the initiative to do something they have always wanted to do. With this blog I want to show you different crafts, show you different movies or television shows or give you some insight on what is going on with me. By doing this I hope that something that I post will inspire you to try something new or something that you've always wanted to try.

3 thoughts on “Cellphones at Dinner?”

  1. I hate it if I’m out for dinner with someone and they’re on their phone. It’s just so rude. I’ve been out to dinner before and whilst eating my friend has had her phone on the table, tapping away. I may as well have not been there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

