The gift guide for boys.

I know. You read the title and your hoping that something might work as a gift for a guy. I totally get it. I’ve been dating my boyfriend for over 4 years and I still have trouble figuring out things to get him. Same with my dad and my brother, I’ve known them forever but its still really hard. I just thought I’d show you guys some ideas for what I got different people for different holidays!

Make a personalized t-shirt!

IMG_0514.jpg

Supplies needed:

  • t-shirt spray paint (This tends to be a thinner paint which works better for the t-shirt, but I didn’t use the spray “feature.” I poured it out on a palette.)
  • round sponge brushes
  • clear packing tape or wax paper. Whichever option you choose, you still need some sort of tape to tape the stencil down.
  • exacto knife
  • cardboard
  • t-shirt

Directions:

  • Print out an emblem you want to put on a t-shirt.
  • Place a piece of wax paper out on your paper you printed and trace the emblem.
  • Use an exacto knife to cut out the parts of the emblem you want imprinted on the t-shirt from the wax paper.
  • Take a piece of cardboard to put inside the t-shirt so that the paint won’t leak through the first layer of the shirt to the back of the shirt.
  • Firmly tape the wax paper to the t-shirt where you want the emblem to go.
  • Use a flat sponge brush to apply the paint. When applying the paint be sure the pieces of the wax paper are where they should be and that you are pushing the paint onto the shirt straight up and down.
  • Let the paint dry overnight or for a few hours.
  • Remove the wax paper and use a small paint brush to do touch ups.

Tips:

  • If you take a cutting board and cover it in clear packing tape and use the exacto knife to cut out the emblem, you wouldn’t have any of the paint bleeding and you wouldn’t have to be as careful how you apply the paint.
  • When painting, paint from the outside in.

Make a personalized mug!

IMG_0768

You can see the personalized mug I made in this picture. For this gift, I bought or made different items that involved my boyfriend’s hobby/career choice. The mug says “PILOT be cause BADASS isn’t an official job title.” and I drew a plane on the opposite side.

With mug making, I honestly haven’t had much success. I have done many experiments with this particular project and I have had many failures with it. However, I think I did find a way that works best.

Supplies needed:

Directions:

  • All you need to do is find a design or quote you like and write on the mug with the marker.
  • Then put the mug in the oven at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes.
  • Take the mug out, let it cool.
  • Then make any touch ups you want and put it in the oven at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes again.

Tips:

  • I did some research and found that oil-based sharpies work better than a normal sharpie.
  • Most directions you find tell you to put the mug in the oven once, but I think putting the mug in twice is necessary.

Buy items you know they’ll need based on new or old interests!

IMG_0537.jpg

This gift was for my mom but it can easily be made into a gift for a guy. I like this particular gift because it contains items that would actually be used and are useful but fun to receive. My mom was taking krav magaa classes so I bought her a towel and headband for the class. I also happened to find a rooster mug so I put the two items in the mug. I just did a compilation of things my mom likes.

For a guy, you could buy a blender bottle, workout towel and an athletic watch for a small but useful gift if they’re into working out. You could also do this for the artsy person in your life. I know personally, when I get random and odd art supplies I get really excited to use them. So you could look up a new type of art expression and buy supplies for that project or buy random items and make an art supply compilation.

Make a scrapbook!

IMG_1738.jpg

Scrapbooks are great to give to someone you know relatively well and have taken pictures or gone to events with them. I make one for my boyfriend about once a year. It’s a great way to document things that have happened between you and that person.

Tips:

  • Keep it simple. Less is more when it comes to scrapbooks in my opinion. But if you prefer things to look busier then do what your heart desires!
  • Don’t just include pictures, add stickers, boarders, ticket stubs, quotes, etc.

Make coasters!

IMG_0536.jpg

Supplies needed:

Directions:

  • With the oil-based marker, draw the design you would like to use.
  • Use mode lodge to seal the coaster.
  • Let the modge podge dry.

Tips:

  • You can buy modge podges in different finishes. I believe the one I used is a matte-satin finish.

 

Happy creating!

What gifts have you given to the guy in your life? What gifts have you given to that person that is difficult to buy for?

-inspireafeeling

Published by

inspireafeeling

Okay... so something about me. I love dogs(who doesn't?). Oh, cats too. I love hearing people's stories. I love being organized. I love letting loose. I love Summer. I love the rain and house-shaking thunderstorms. I like when things match. I love to exercise and aim for a happier and healthier lifestyle. I am an art fanatic(speaking of which, I should work on a new post about art). I love my family. I love my friends. I love my boyfriend. I love the feeling of being free. I love DIYs. I could list so many more things, I love but there's the gist. Now for some structured writing...I am currently a college student who has always wanted to find a way to give someone a spark or the initiative to do something they have always wanted to do. With this blog I want to show you different crafts, show you different movies or television shows or give you some insight on what is going on with me. By doing this I hope that something that I post will inspire you to try something new or something that you've always wanted to try.

Leave a Reply

